Patience

patience

I am in a conditioning class: God is my trainer. However, I didn’t volunteer for it, because He knows I hate exercise. But He has been relentless about building up my “patience muscle” lately.

I’ve been in a waiting mode for some things to happen lately that simply can’t be rushed. They will be complete when they are. But it all takes time. And I have to wait. Even though, I want things to happen right now like I am accustomed to. I mean drive-thru service, microwave popcorn, and a DVR has conditioned me to not have to wait for things. But good things seem to take time. Just ask a mother carrying a fetus around in her womb.

My job puts my patience to the test everyday. I mean to the point that it feels like torture to not break under the pressure to remain calm. I work in a classroom of 3 year olds. Nuff said. I continue to smile and keep my voice pleasant, but sometimes I want to run away, far away, and live under a bridge and eat chili beans out of the can. Who needs money anyways? But I endure, because some of those kids are just looking for love and attention. And how else can I support my fast food cravings?

Patience. I knew I needed it, but everyone knows not to ask for it. God, like a good Heavenly Father He is, is pumping up my patience. One day I’ll be complete. But not yet.

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds,  because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James 1: 2-4

Leave a Reply

