Spaghetti Jar Service

20130318-222401.jpg
Whenever I come to the end of a jar of spaghetti sauce an internal war rises up within me. To keep or not keep? It’s like HGTV and Hoarders are duking it out on my shoulders. HGTV is the good angel and wants me to be clutter-free. Hoarders is the bad angel and tempts me to look at the beauty of the jar and all its possible uses.

Admittedly, my natural tendency is to save the jar and let it collect into a heap along with the other ones that clutter up my kitchen. But I am learning that less is best, so I gritted my teeth and threw the empty jar into the recycling bin tonight. Phew! One battle won. HGTV-1, Hoarders-10.

While I continued cooking my pasta dish, I reflected on why I like jars so much. I figured out it’s because jars have so much potential! Basically you store stuff in a jar, but it’s the unlimited items you can store in a jar that gets my juice for jars flowing. Has anyone ever written an ebook on 101 Items to Store in Jars? If not, maybe I should. In actuality, though, I rarely use my jars. *sigh*. That’s why HGTV won tonight. I don’t have enough time to put my jars to good use.

All this internal jar jabber got me to thinking about what the Bible says in 2 Timothy 2:20-21(NKJV),

“But in a great house there are not only vessels of gold and silver, but also of wood and clay, some for honor and some for dishonor. Therefore if anyone cleanses himself from the latter, he will be a vessel for honor, sanctified and useful for the Master, prepared for every good work.”

Unlike me, God has all kinds of special purposes just waiting for a special instrument. He tells us His purposes are good works. We are His instruments, but we have to be willing and prepared to be used by Him. Are you serving the Master? Or are you a leftover spaghetti jar in the recycling bin?

One thought on “Spaghetti Jar Service

  1. Powerful post. I must say that even though t here are times I feel like a leftover spaghetti jar in the recycling bin, I am so glad that God is the one doing the recycling. He can make me new again and get back on the road to serving Him. Isn’t He awesome???? It’s all about repentance, forgiveness, and a willingness to follow Him.

Leave a Reply

