Before there was Rocky Balboa, there was Caleb Son of Jephunneh

I love Rocky movies. The sweat, the training, getting put down, and getting back up are all elements that stir my insides. In the latest film, Rocky Balboa has aged and is in retirement, but he feels there is “stuff in the basement.” He decides to get back in the boxing ring.

He reminds me of Caleb, son of Jephunneh, who approached Joshua to request permission to capture the hill country that God had promised him 45 years prior. He said, “Here I am today, 85 years old. I am still as strong today as I was the day Moses sent me out. My strength for battle and for daily tasks is now as it was then…” (Joshua 14:10-11)

We are never too old to be of use to God. We are to keep going and finish the upward race toward our heavenly home. Read Apostle Paul’s words, “I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.” (2 Tim.4:7)

Like Rocky, who had a large audience ready to cheer him on, so do we: “Therefore, since we also have such a large crowd of witnesses surrounding us, let us lay aside every weight and the sin that so easily ensnares us. Let us run with endurance the race that lies before us, keeping our eyes on Jesus, the source and perfecter of our faith…” (Hebrews 12:1-2)

My prayer for you is this: get back up, don’t give up, keep going!

One thought on “Before there was Rocky Balboa, there was Caleb Son of Jephunneh

Leave a Reply

